You are here

James R. Moffett steps down from FCX board

Freeport-McMoRan's James R. Moffett will step down from FCX’s board of directors and as executive chairman
James R. Moffett steps down from FCX board

Freeport-McMoRan (FCX) has announced that James R. Moffett, chairman of the board, co-founder, and long-time executive, will step down from FCX’s board of directors and as executive chairman. Moffett, who has been named chairman emeritus, has agreed to become a consultant to the FCX board, including providing advisory services in support of the company’s ongoing discussions with the Indonesian government regarding its contract of work. 

The board has elected Gerald J. Ford as non-executive chairman. Ford has served as FCX’s lead independent director since 2013. 

Richard C. Adkerson, vice chairman, continues as president and chief executive officer. 

Moffett has served as executive chairman of FCX since 2003 and previously served as FCX’s chief executive officer from 1995 to 2003. In 1969, Moffett and two associates founded McMoRan Oil & Gas Co., which developed into one of America's leading independent oil and gas companies. In 1981, Moffett led the effort to merge McMoRan Oil & Gas Co. and Freeport Minerals Co. The merger resulted in the establishment of FCX’s former parent company. He served as its chairman and chief executive officer from 1984 until its acquisition in 1997. 

Moffett has also been a noted civic leader and has received many awards during his career, including the 1990 Horatio Alger Association of Distinguished Americans Award. In 2000, he received the Association's Norman Vincent Peale Award for his exceptional humanitarian contributions to society. He is also a member of the University of Texas McCombs School of Business hall of fame and the American Mining hall of fame, Mining Foundation of the Southwest. 

Image: Freeport-McMoRan logo/ Freeport-McMoRan Twitter


Latest profiles